Whitesnake – The Purple Album

Friday 3rd April 2015

Line Up:

David Coverdale – Lead Vocals
Reb Beach – Lead Guitars
Joel Hoekstra – Lead Guitars
Michael Devin – Bass Guitar
Tommy Aldridge – Drums

Track Listing:

1. Burn
2. You Fool No One (Interpolating ‘Itchy Fingers’)
3. Love Child
4. Sail Away
5. The Gypsy
6. Lady Double Dealer
7. Mistreated
8. Holy Man
9. Might Just Take Your Life
10. You Keep On Moving
11. Soldier of Fortune
12. Lay Down Stay Down
13. Stormbringer

Deluxe Edition Bonus Tracks:

14. Lady Luck
15. Comin’ Home

Legends of rock, Whitesnake, have returned with their 12th studio album, which is due for release on the 18th May 2015 as a standard edition, deluxe edition with added behind the scenes footage, or as a double LP vinyl format.

After answering an advert that was placed for a singer/songwriter back in 1973, David Coverdale became the new lead singer for Deep Purple. After 3 hard rocking years, Coverdale left the band and a year later in 1977 formed the legendary Whitesnake. Recently in 2012 Coverdale was contacted by his old management team who informed him that John Lord, who had worked with Deep Purple and Whitesnake had been diagnosed with cancer, and it was his wish on recovery that they put together a Deep Purple reunion. Unfortunately John didn’t recover, so Coverdale reached out to Ritchie Blackmore and they started working on a project, which unfortunately didn’t come off. However, it was Coverdale’s wife, Cindy who planted the seed of creating a new Whitesnake album and incorporating music from his time with Deep Purple. And here we are today with their next masterpiece, The Purple Album. 

“Even though we’re playing songs I recorded with Purple over 40 years ago, it has all the classic Whitesnake elements people who support us have come to expect…” says Coverdale, “I thought it would be cool to go out, as it were, the way I came in to this music business.”

Armed with tracks that were written and produced over 40 years ago, what you’re ultimately getting is a Coverdale masterpiece; it’s the best of both worlds. We’re quickly reminded with the opening track ‘Burn’ exactly why these talents shouldn’t be put to rest. Excuse the pun but it’s what you’d call bloody ter-riff-ic, with guitar solos running throughout the 6-minute track it’s a great hook in to the album.

If it’s more of a Whitesnake power ballard that you’re after, then look no further than ‘Love Child’, ‘Sail Away’, and ‘The Gypsy’. You still get all those elements of Deep Purple but with the exertion of a new power from their current Whitesnake line up.

This album is clearly a great way to show off their versatility, especially with tracks like ‘Soldier of Fortune’, which is an incredible song and a timeless Deep Purple classic, but has been cleaned up with a bit more tempo. Lay Down Stay Down has added some grease to the guitars and has packed in as much riff and finger-playing possible. It sounds amazing and continues to bring the album out on its high note; but personally the original still does it for me.

‘Stormbringer’ was released back in November 1974 and has done well out of the reincarnation, having 5 of it’s tracks on ‘The Purple Album’. However, it’s predecessor ‘Burn’ which was released 9 months before, and was the first album to feature Coverdale has graced 6 of the current album tracks.

“There was absolutely no intention to compete, or compare with the original recordings. We just wanted to play these songs the best we could and this is how we wanted to play them,“ says Coverdale.

Ultimately what the fans will be getting from this album is by no means a spruced up covers album; it’s so much more than that. You’re getting David Coverdale and the current Whitesnake line up, which could arguably be at their best right now. They’ve taken 2 forces and created a legacy from a history that goes back more than 40 years. This is something for the fans to remember, a memento in rock history.